Kummersee 1401-1774

In the Hinterpasseier between Moso/Moos and Corvara/Rabenstein where the Seefhof is located today, there once was the Passeier Wildsee lake. This lake formed way back in 1401, caused by a landslide of the Gspeller mountain, which formed a barrier across the narrow valley and blocked the flow of the Passer river, which resulted in an artificial lake. The lake was approximately 2 km long, 300 m wide and around 40 metres deep. Due to its eight devastating floods, it became the so-called Kummersee (lake of sorrow). Kummersee existed for 373 years, from 1401 to 1774. When it first flooded on 22 September 1419, a large part of the city of Merano/Meran was devastated and 400 people perished. Then the lake flooded again in 1503, 1512, 1572, 1721, 1772, 1773 and 1774. After the last flood, the lake dried up completely.

Kummersee circular route

The Kummersee circular route at Corvara/Rabenstein which is located nearby and worth seeing can easily be accessed by foot. The circular route in Corvara around the Kummersee lake which is shrouded in legend combines experience of nature, the pleasure of hiking and exciting conveyance of history. During the summer months, you can walk around the former lake basin at a height of 1,340 m sea level in approx. two and a half hours, with a difference in altitude of around 350 m. Sturdy footwear and weatherproof gear is recommended. Please obtain information on the snow- and weather conditions. The eight service areas and information terminals located in chronological order around the former lake, interesting facts are provided on various topics on the Kummersee and surrounding area.

Directions: From the Bunker Museum at the edge of the village of Moos/Moso (1,007 m), follow the E5 or the Kummersee circular route no. 43. Walk along the Passer river into the valley for about 1 ½ hours up to the valley basin below Rabenstein. The path leads to the left to the derelict “Seehof”. As the circular route is currently (Autumn 2013) not passable along its entire length, it is recommended to walk back the short stretch from “Seehof” to the road leading to Rabenstein and then to follow the Kummersee circular route (in the opposite direction) into the valley up to Rabenstein village (1,410 m). Information boards are provided along the way. Return to Moos via the same route.

Bild: Kummersee circular route at the ancient lake “Kummersee” in Rabenstein in Hinterpasseier – Grafic: design.buero

Der Kummersee 1401-1774

Im hinteren Passeiertal zwischen Moos und Rabenstein, wo heute der Seehof steht, lag einst der Passeirer Wildsee. Dieser See war im fernen Jahre 1401 durch einen Bergrutsch des Gspeller Berges entstanden. Er sperrte das enge Tal der Quere nach ab und versperrte der Passer den Lauf, sodass ein Stausee entstand. Der See war ungefähr 2 km lang, 300 Meter breit und hatte eine Tiefe von etwa 40 Metern. Durch seine acht verheerenden Ausbrüche, wurde er zum sogenannten Kummersee. Der Kummersee blieb 373 Jahre, nämlich von 1401-1774, bestehen. Beim ersten Ausbruch am 22. September 1419 wurde ein großer Teil der Stadt Meran verwüstet und es kamen ca. 400 Menschen ums Leben. Danach brach der See noch in den Jahren 1503, 1512, 1572, 1721, 1772, 1773 und 1774 aus. Nach dem letzten Ausbruch versiegte der See völlig.

Kummersee-Rundweg

Der nahe gelegene und sehenswerte Kummersee-Rundweg bei Rabenstein ist zu Fuß leicht zu erreichen. Der Rundweg um den sagenumwobenen Kummersee in Rabenstein im Hinterpasseier verbindet Naturerlebnis, Wandervergnügen und spannende Geschichtsvermittlung. In den Sommermonaten lässt sich das ehemalige Seebecken auf 1.340 m Meereshöhe in ca. zweieinhalb Stunden Wegzeit, bei ungefähr 350 m Höhenunterschied umrunden. Festes Schuhwerk und wetterfeste Ausrüstung werden empfohlen. Bitte informieren Sie sich über die Schnee- und Wetterlage. An den acht Rast- und Informationsstationen, die in zeitlicher Abfolge um den ehemaligen See führen, wird Wissenswertes zu verschiedenen Themenbereichen des Kummersees und der Umgebung geboten.

Wegbeschreibung: Ab dem Bunker Mooseum am Dorfrand von Moos (1.007 m) dem E5 bzw. dem Kummersee-Rundweg Nr. 43 folgen. An der Passer entlang taleinwärts in etwa 1 ½ Stunden bis zum Talbecken unterhalb von Rabenstein wandern. Der Weg führt links zum verfallenen „Seehof“ weiter. Da der Rundweg derzeit (Stand Herbst 2013) nicht in seiner Gesamtlänge begehbar ist, empfiehlt es sich, vom „Seehof“ wieder das kurze Stück bis zur Straße, die nach Rabenstein führt, zurückzuwandern und von dort dem Kummersee-Rundweg (in entgegengesetzter Richtung) taleinwärts bis zum Rabensteiner Dorf (1.410 m) zu folgen. Unterwegs sind Infotafeln angebracht. Auf dem selben Weg zurück nach Moos.